“A rollicking, off-kilter joy ride in the vein of Bret Easton Ellis and Jack Kerouac, The Great Dick hits all the laser-sharp high notes of a modern-day hero on the run, as told by one of the more accessible voices I’ve read in ages. Compelling, twisting, irreverent, and entertaining, The Great Dick blends creative fiction and literary thriller in an unstoppable story for current times.”

— Claire Fullerton

Author of Little Tea, winner of the 2020 International Book Award

“A story so compulsively readable that you’ll carry it to the kitchen in the middle of the night while you’re waiting for your tea kettle to boil.”

—Jacquelyn Mitchard

Number one New York Times bestselling author

“Barry Maher has got a wicked voice and a razor-sharp tongue to match. He’s found a countercultural cad for the ages with his anti-hero Steve Witowski … [This is] a great book.”

— Clay McLeod Chapman

Author of The Remaking and Whisper Down the Lane

“Barry Maher’s debut novel is the Comp Lit classic you always wanted to read, a witches’ brew of sexual tension, metaphysical speculation, lurid crime, tabloid scandal, and black magic, all served up with sly wit and some unexpected grace notes.”

—Michael Prescott

New York Times bestselling author

The quotes above are excerpted from just a few of the raves for Barry’s book.

About Barry

Barry Maher was ridiculously successful as “a motivational speaker for people who don’t believe in motivational speakers,” a storyteller who spoke to millions all over the world. You may have seen him:

  • on the Today Show, CNBC or NBC Nightly News;
  • in publications like USA Today, the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal and the London Times;
  • on any of over 850 TV and radio stations or any of over 18,000 websites.

Though Barry often referred to himself as “a highly-overpaid, self-appointed guru,” his client list was packed with organizations like the American Bar Association, AT&T, Hewlett-Packard, the National Lottery of Ireland, the U.S. Army and Wells Fargo. His nonfiction has been widely translated and published in the U.S. by Random House, McGraw-Hill, Amacom and Dearborn/Kaplan. Filling the Glass was honored by Today’s Librarian as “[one of] The Seven Essential Popular Business Books.”

Barry might have been a workaholic but that work was usually done in the finest resorts and on luxury cruises.

“And then,” he says . . .

“One day, I started misplacing my glasses. And occasionally my clothes ended up on backwards. My doctor ordered an MRI . . . turns out I had a hemangiopericytoma, a cancerous brain tumor, the size of a baseball. Very rare. But not, apparently, rare enough.

“I awoke from the surgery—which was a complete success—with the outline of a story. About men and women. And success and failure. And ideals and compromise and betrayal. It was set in the early ‘80s as the last of the counterculture of the ‘60s collided with the Reagan Revolution.

“I think it’s the best story I’ve ever told. Since it was clear to me—if to no one else—that Moby-Dick, The Great Gatsby and this story were all essentially the same tale, the only possible title was The Great Dick.”

The title, The Great Dick, is unforgettable. Name retention and recognition should be massive. And:

“Barry Maher is one persuasive son-of-a-bitch.”

-F. Paul Sheehan, CFO, Dyer Sheehan Group, Inc.

Barry built a multimillion-dollar speaking business through PR. Now his business is writing. He’ll be utilizing those same skills and resources—doing whatever is necessary, on a full-time basis—to make The Great Dick a success.

  • His marketing skills are strong enough that he’s qualified as an expert witness on the subject in federal and state court. He even managed to convince Bill Gates to contribute a chapter to one of his marketing books.
  • Years ago, Barry was the number one salesperson in the world (out of 500) for a Fortune 100 company. Later, the article Selling Power® did on him declared, “To his powerful and famous clients, Barry Maher is simply the best sales trainer in the business.”

Peter Cox / Redhammer Management will be showing Barry’s manuscript to publishers.

Advance Praise

From Sixteen Distinguished Authors

mockup4_36

“An utter delight . . . exceptionally well-realized . . . Novels about catastrophic failures are often the best kind of novels, and Barry Maher’s The Great Dick’s unforgettable Steve Witowski proves himself an indelible part of that canon. Echoes of Denis Johnson, Carl Hiaasen, even Thomas Pynchon—those hilarious laureates of American calamity—abound, but Maher has a deadpan command that’s entirely his own. The Great Dick is an absolute blast.”

—Matthew Specktor

Author of the New York Times Book Review Editor’s Choice American Dream Machine and The Golden Hour. Founding editor of the Los Angeles Review of Books.

“I love the writing. Incredibly readable—the pages just fly by—and hands-down the most unique tale I’ve read in years.”

—Lisa Black

New York Times bestselling author of Every Kind of Wicked.

mockup4_39
mockup4_44

“If debut author Barry Maher set out to write a book consumed with mayhem, peopled with borderline Ivy Leaguers in desperate circumstances who seem to care little or nothing for each other, and make it a story so compulsively readable that you’ll carry it to the kitchen in the middle of the night while you’re waiting for your tea kettle to boil, he did, and this is it. The Great Dick is pretty great fiction.

—Jacquelyn Mitchard

Number one New York Times bestselling author of The Deep End of the Ocean, the inaugural selection of the Oprah Winfrey Book Club, made into the film of the same name, starring Michelle Pfeiffer and Whoopi Goldberg.

“What a page turner. Witty, literate, scary, sexy, and powerfully evocative of Southern California trying to leave the Sixties behind. I can’t wait to read his next novel. Barry Maher is a brilliant new literary talent.”

—Gayle Lynds

New York Times bestselling author of The Assassins and Masquerade. The Hades Factor, co-written with Robert Ludlum, became a CBS mini Series. Co-founder and former president of International Thriller Writers.

mockup4_47
mockup4_50

“I loved it. Barry Maher is a highly original and completely delightful new voice in crime fiction.”

—Deon Meyer

Award-winning international bestselling author of The Last Hunt. Deon’s books have been published in more than 40 countries. Dead Before Dying (as Cape Town) and Trackers were turned into international TV series.

“With a voice that jumps off the page, Barry Maher delivers a smart debut novel with a wink and a smirk that is part thriller, part supernatural horror. The Great Dick is like the product of a lusty, literary one night stand between Anne Rice and Lee Child. Here’s hoping Maher progresses his lead character into a follow-up story.”

—Pamela Fagan Hutchins

USA Today bestselling author of the Patrick Flint novels. Pamela has sold over 3 million books. She’s an Amazon Charts Top 15 bestseller, a multiple USA Best Books winner and the winner of the Silver Falchion Award for Best Adult Mystery.

mockup4_54
mockup4_58

“A man on the run, a beautiful woman, and a spooky old church combine with crackling writing, laser humor, and a little bit of magic to create a book that will keep readers turning the pages. Add a touch of the paranormal, a dash of intrigue, and a missing body, and The Great Dick is a great read!”

—Casey Daniels

Bestselling author of 32 novels including Don of the Dead. Also writes as Kylie Logan.

“WOW! What a fascinating read. Barry Maher has created the ultimate antihero in Steve Witowski. The Great Dick is a powerful supernatural thriller that scares the crap out of you. Just when you think you know what’s going on, you discover you don’t. A well-written, haunting debut that grabs hold and refuses to let you go. This is a book I’m not going to forget. Different and impossible to put down.”

—Chris Goff

Bestselling author of Dark Waters and Red Sky, Military Writers Society of America Gold Medalist for Mystery/Thriller.

mockup4_61
mockup4_64

“An enormous amount of fun. Wholly fresh and original. Wickedly funny. Within a couple of chapters you’ll think you know where this is going . . . a few chapters more and you’ll realize you were very wrong. The Great Dick is a hot, sweaty, magic- and murder-infused rollercoaster of a story that takes you in every direction except the one you’re expecting. I laughed. I gagged. I loved it.”

—David Moody

Author of the Hater and Autumn novels. Guillermo Del Toro, director of The Shape of Water and Pan’s Labyrinth, bought the rights to Hater. Autumn became a film starring Dexter Fletcher and David Carradine.

“Barry Maher has got a wicked voice and a razor-sharp tongue to match. He’s found a countercultural cad for the ages with his anti-hero Steve Witowski. Don’t be surprised to hear that name echoed alongside Raoul Duke, Old Bull Lee or Mark Renton in the future . . . a great book.”

—Clay McLeod Chapman

Author of The Remaking and Whisper Down the Lane. Co-author of the film, The Boy, starring Elijah Wood. Clay also teaches writing at The Actors Studio MFA program at Pace University. “Clay McLeod Chapman races back and forth along the serrated edges of everyday American madness, objectively recording each whimper of anguish,” Tom Robbins wrote in Still Life with Woodpecker.

mockup4_68
mockup4_72

“Brilliant! Witty, fast, and fun. Maher’s novel makes your own relationship issues pale compared to the protagonist, ‘Stephen Witowski.’ A failed small-time drug dealer on the lam, his problems are just beginning when he stumbles across a stunningly beautiful woman under assault by a crazed assailant mumbling in Latin. A taste of Fatal Attraction with a rewrite by Stephen King gives you a sampling of how Witowski’s ‘harmful to worse’ scenario is about to play out in twists and turns you cannot predict.”

—Kevin Tinto

Author of the Indie mega-bestselling Ice Trilogy, with over 500,000 copies sold and 4,700 reviews on Amazon alone.

“Well written, suspenseful and original.”

—A.J. Banner

USA Today and Publishers Weekly bestselling author of The Good Neighbor.

mockup4_76
mockup4_80

“Barry Maher’s The Great Dick is a romp equal parts Indiana Jones and Elmore Leonard, with a smidge of Ira Levin for good measure!”

—John F.D. Taff

Multiple Bram Stoker Award-Nominated Author of The End in All Beginnings and The Fearing.

“I loved it . . . Imaginative, told in an exciting voice, and altogether fascinating . . . reminded me of Graham Greene.”

—John C. Sheldon

Co-author with Gayle Lynds of A Triumph of Logic.

mockup4_83
mockup4_86

“Barry Maher’s debut novel is the Comp Lit classic you always wanted to read, a witches’ brew of sexual tension, metaphysical speculation, lurid crime, tabloid scandal, and black magic, all served up with sly wit and some unexpected grace notes. And yes, it’s called The Great Dick, so it’s got that going for it, too.

—Michael Prescott

New York Times bestselling author of The Shadow Hunter. Michael has sold well over two million books.

“A rollicking, off-kilter joy ride in the vein of Bret Easton Ellis and Jack Kerouac, The Great Dick hits all the laser-sharp high notes of a modern-day hero on the run, as told by one of the more accessible voices I’ve read in ages. Compelling, twisting, irreverent, and entertaining, The Great Dick blends creative fiction and literary thriller in an unstoppable story for current times.”

—Claire Fullerton

Five time award-winning author of Little Tea and Mourning Dove. Winner of the 2020 International Book Award.

mockup4_90

    Contact

    Please use this form to contact Barry’s literary agent, Peter Cox at Redhammer Management.

      To contact Barry about other matters, click here